Hester on the Run book review

I like Linda Byler’s style of writing, and her characters are always interesting, and this book was just as good as her others I’ve read.

I liked the unusual way Hester was found, in the woods, abandoned, and how her adopted mother and dad, Kate and Hans, loved her and took great care of her, bringing her up in the Amish way of life.  Even though Hester was Indian, her family and neighbors, for the most part, were friendly and supportive of the arrangement. 

What I didn’t like was, Han’s almost creepy obsession with Hester. I was wondering at one point if he was going to be a pedophile.   Plus, throughout the story, Byler lets us know Kate feels slighted, and is sad that Hans ignores their other children, and holds Hester above all of them. 

Idolatry of a child is not a good thing, in God’s ways.

The story kept my interest, and Byler is a good author, always tells a believable Christian fiction story.

I hope she continues to write for the Christian community . 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.